Good morning and welcome to Lakewood Golf Club in New Orleans Louisiana.


Lakewood Golf Club is a New Orleans icon. Golf's greatest champions have won at Lakewood and the club house was the site of hundreds of wedding receptions, family gatherings and events over the years. Do you have memories of Lakewood you would like to share? Send them to us - photos or just fond memories. We're collecting them for our own scrapbook andFacebook fan page.



Imagine the talent that has played at Lakewood Golf Club.  Eight World Golf Hall of Famers won at Lakewood from 1963-1988 when it hosted the PGA tour.  These eight golfers* won a total of 263 PGA Tour Victories, of this total 53 were Major Championships -the Masters, U.S. Open,  British Open and PGA.

Few courses in the world have hosted such great players. 

The first New Orleans Open was played at Lakewood in 1963. Past champions include Jack Nicklaus, Tom Watson, Billy Casper, Seve Ballesteros, Miller Barber, Dick Mayer, Bill Rogers and Lee Trevino. Lakewood also hosted two USG Championships as well as two Southern Golf Association Championships.

For many years, the men's and women's golf teams from Tulane University used Lakewood as their home course.

Lakewood Country Club opened in 1961. It was designed by architect Robert Bruce Harris, foremost designer of the "Garden School" of architecture. The golf course was built by Maddox and Sons of Chicago, then the largest golf course contractors in Louisiana. The Lakewood club house and out buildings were designed by Edward Silverstein, one of the architects of the Louisiana Superdome.

Lakewood Country Club was on the verge of bankruptcy when the Firemen's Pension Fund purchased the property in May, 2003 for $6 million. The private club was closed and the facility was opened to the public. It was renamed Lakewood Golf Club. 

"Lakewood's past was filled with great memories and the future is filled with great expectations..."



1963 Bo Wininger
1964 Mason Rudolph
1965 Dick Mayer
1966 Frank Beard
1967 George Knudson
1968 George Archer
1969 Larry Hinson
1970 Miller Barber
1971 Frank Beard
1972 Gary Player*
1973 Jack Nicklaus*
1974 Lee Trevino*
1975 Billy Casper*
1976 Larry Ziegler
1977 Jim Simons
1978 Lon Hinkle
1979 Hubert Green*
1980 Tom Watson*
1981 Tom Watson*
1982 Scott Hoch
1983 Bill Rogers
1984 Bob Eastwood
1985 Seve Ballesteros*
1986 Calvin Peete
1987 Ben Crenshaw*
1988 Chip Beck

Billy Casper won at Lakewood in 1975

Jack Nicklaus won at Lakewood in 1973


*World Golf Hall of Famers who won at Lakewood.  These eight golfers won a total of 263 PGA Tour Victories, of this total 53 were Major Championships -the Masters, U.S. Open,  British Open and PGA.